Friends of Lorain Library, Inc.

When and where we meet

We meet several times a year. The frequency of these meetings is at the discretion of the president of the Friends group that year. Board members are notified by mail of upcoming meetings. Each year an annual meeting, to which all members are invited, is held.

Meetings go back and forth between the Main Library at 351 W. Sixth Street and the South Lorain Branch at 2121 Homewood Drive. Meetings begin at 5 p.m. FOR ALL 2022 MEETINGS, PLEASE CALL THE BRANCH TO CONFIRM THESE DATES AND TIMES AS WELL AS LPLS SAFETY PROTOCOLS. 

Lorain Friends meeting dates for 2022:
5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 25 at the Main Library
5 p.m. Tuesday, May 31 at the South Lorain Branch  
5 p.m. Tuesday, Sept. 27 at the Main Library 

Book sale dates and details

Friends volunteer to help with the three book sales (January, May and September) held at the Main Library each year as well as with other fundraising events. Members of the Friends of the Lorain Public Library, Inc. may attend the Book Sale Previews held from 5 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Thursday evening before the book sale opens to the general public. FOR ALL 2022 BOOK SALES, PLEASE CALL THE BRANCH TO CONFIRM THESE DATES AND TIMES AS WELL AS THE CURRENT LPLS SAFETY PROTOCOLS. 

The Lorain Friends Holiday Books, Bazaar & Bake Sale includes items that are “gift-able.”

Lorain Friends book sale dates for 2022:

Jan. 13 to 20 
     Thursday, Jan. 13; 5 to 7:30 p.m. (Preview for Friends Members only)
     Friday, Jan. 14; 10 a.m to 5:30 p.m. 
     Saturday, Jan. 15; 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. 
     Monday, Jan. 17; 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.  (Half Price Day)
     Tuesday, Jan. 18; 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Half Price Day)
     Wednesday, Jan. 19; 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Nickel Day) 
     Thursday, Jan. 20; 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Penny Day)

May 19 to 26  
    Thursday, May 19; 5 to 7:30 p.m. (Preview for Friends Members only)
     Friday, May 20; 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. 
     Saturday, May 21; 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m 
     Monday, May 23; 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Half Price Day)
     Tuesday, May 24; 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Half Price Day)
     Wednesday, May 25; 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Nickel Day)
     Thursday, May 26; 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Penny Day) 

Sept. 15 to 22  
     Thursday, Sept 15; 5 to 7:30 p.m. (Preview for Friends Members only) 
     Friday, Sept. 16; 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. 
     Saturday, Sept. 17; 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. 
     Monday, Sept. 19; 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Half Price Day)
     Tuesday, Sept. 20; 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Half Price Day)
     Wednesday, Sept. 21; 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Nickel Day)
     Thursday, Sept. 22; 10 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. (Penny Day) 

Nov. 25 & 26; 10 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Holiday Book Sale & Bazaar 

Membership dues and application

Application forms can be obtained at the Main Library or at the South Lorain Branch. Click here to download a printable application.

Lorain Friends annual membership dues:
Student (18 years and under) $3
Individual (19 years and over) $5
Family $15
Organization $25
Corporation / Business $25 per book sale

Make checks payable to: Friends of the Lorain Public Library, Inc.
Mail your membership payment to:
Friends of the Lorain Public Library, Inc.
Lorain Public Library
351 W. Sixth St.
Lorain, OH 44052

Current Officers

President: Debra Jackson
Vice President: Dawn Bodnar
Secretary:  Christine Teleha
Treasurer: Anthony Campana

By-Laws

Click here for a copy of our by-laws.

Member of the Ohio Library Council Friends of the Library.

The Friends of the Lorain Library, Inc. awarded $500 towards the schooling of two current LPLS employees looking to further their education. "We are more than happy to see such qualified, skilled, and motivated employees of Lorain Public Library System and wish them both a successful career" - Debra Jackson, Friends President 

Debra Jackson, Friends President; Cassie Rodriguez and Rachael Kowalski, scholarship recipients and Tony Campana, Friends Treasurer
Debra Jackson, Friends President; Cassie Rodriuez and Rachael Kowalski, scholarship recipients, and Tony Campana, Friends Treasurer